Watching You by Lisa Jewell, A Book-Review “No Spoilers”

Watching You by Lisa Jewell

I was hesitating to read Watching You by Lisa Jewell at first, not because I didn’t like to read the book but, because I had only a kindle version, and I’m not a big fan of e-books. I love it more to be a paper copy, -which I couldn’t find in the only bookstore in my city that sells English books- I love to turn pages until the end. In spite of that,I’ve started reading it on my kindle. And I liked it so much, I kept swiping till the last word.

I really enjoyed how this novel is full of twists and turns and how its characters are many , several and that some of them are creepy. But everyone of them is up to something, is watching someone.

The story begins with a crime scene preview. This prologue keeps the reader in suspense until the end.

Joey ( Josephine) Mullen, one of the main characters is living with her newly married husband Alfie Butter in her brother, Jack’s painted House. The amazement of the strong amazing Alfie was satisfying Joey until she notices a handsome man; Tom Fitzwilliam who lives in Melville Heights, few doors down from hers. Then her obsession with Tom begins.

The story is told from the perspectives of many characters. Although the point of view changes and the characters are many you still can keep up with the story. But you have to pay attention to the changing dates because the novel goes backwards and forwards until it reveals how it ended up with a murder.

And every now and then you have a dialogue from police interviews which helps reminding you of the murder and keeps you guessing and asking who did it and who was the victim. The thing I loved the novel more for is that I couldn’t expect the end or tell how it’ll end until it surprised me with that unexpected resolution.

I gave this stunning amazing thriller a five stars rating in Goodreads. And I look forward to read more of Lisa Jewell declaring that she got a new fan right here. 

If you didn’t read this thriller yet, I highly recommend it for you, and I hope that you’ll enjoy it as well.

Leave a comment